AMD 2.1

ASC feature-film nominees and reactions

Los Angeles  — The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced nominations in the theatrical motion picture category of the 28th Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement.

Adobe Photoshop PDF

The nominees are:
• Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 Years a Slave 
• Barry Ackroyd, BSC for Captain Phillips
• Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster
• Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC for Gravity
• Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Inside Llewyn Davis

• Phedon Papamichael, ASC for Nebraska
• Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Prisoners

The winner will be revealed at the awards ceremony on February 1, at the Hollywood & Highland Ray Dolby Ballroom.

“Our members believe these cinematographers have set the contemporary standard for artful, theatrical motion picture cinematography,” says ASC ( president Richard Crudo. “They have mastered a complex craft which contributes vitally to the storytelling process, and augments the intentions of everyone involved with the production.”

Traditionally, the organization selects five nominees, but a three-way tie this year boosts that number to seven.

This year’s nomination brings Deakins’ total to 12. He won last year for Skyfall, and previously for The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations were for Fargo (1997), Kundun (1998), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), No Country for Old Men (2008), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Reader (2009) and True Grit (2011). He was also the recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Lubezki has won ASC Awards for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007), and was also nominated in 2000 for Sleepy Hollow.

Delbonnel earned top honors for A Very Long Engagement (2005), as well as a nomination for Amélie (2002).

Ackroyd was previously nominated for The Hurt Locker (2010). Reacting to his second nomination, he said, “That itself makes me feel that I’m doing something right. To be nominated by the ASC is the greatest thing — to have your peers acknowledge your work is all you can hope for.”

He also commented on shooting Captain Phillips: “From the beginning I knew that the much of the film would need to be shot at sea, at night and in difficult conditions. But nothing can prepare you for shooting three Navy ships, a life boat, with helicopters flying overhead, and all 15 miles out into the Atlantic Ocean.”

He said it was probably the most stressful moment of my career. “In hindsight though, because of our great crew’s fantastic skills and the fabulous coordination all around us, now it all seems like a ‘piece of cake.'”

Papamichael earned previous nominations in the television movie and miniseries category for White Dwarf (1996) and Wild Palms (1994), respectively. He said,  “To get recognition from your peers is always an exceptional honor. The ASC cinematographers are a group of film-lovers who not only appreciate the technical achievements, but have a passion for the storytelling and emotional content of the cinematography.”

Papamichael also enjoyed the opportunity to shoot a film in B&W, a genre he respected growing up. “In today’s studio world, anytime you get to shoot a B&W feature film is a rare opportunity. It was a lot of fun re-discovering the power of B&W images, and constructing classic frames of an era that had influenced me as a young man.”

This is the first ASC nomination for Bobbitt and Le Sourd.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.